SU Elections 2018 Results

After three long days of voting, a fourth record turnout in a row saw 2919 students vote in this year’s SU Elections. With five sabbatical officers, and three part-time roles being decided, you turned out in your droves casting 20,001 individual votes.

The record turnout of 28% smashes last year’s tally of 25.35%, giving your Sabbatical Officers a fantastic mandate to lobby for you.

Elected to the role of President was Clem Jones, with Holly Hughes and Dominic Brown elected into the roles of Vice President Societies & Media and Vice President Sport respectively. Jack O’Neill becomes the second Vice President Education while Willow Wong was successfully re-elected as Vice President Welfare & Diversity. Every candidate ran a phenomenal campaign, demonstrated by how close each of the races were.

Looking back at the wide spread of this campaign’s candidates, from a wide variety of years, courses, and nationalities, it’s clear that this election has been the most diverse yet. Ideas and policies have been put forward from all different viewpoints, testament to the range of experiences the candidates have brought to the table.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the candidates from the bottom of our hearts – without you, there simply would be no election. We would also like to thank the campaign teams, who have worked tirelessly for each of the candidates

The Students’ Union looks forward to welcoming the newly elected officers to the team in July, ready for a year of action, and change.

We are also happy to announce the winners of the Race to 100 Competition, with Conservative Society securing the win for the over 50 category, and Women’s Rugby in the under 50 category. Both groups will be receiving £100 towards their budgets. A huge shout-out also needs to go out to Netball who also reached 100%, but were just pipped at the post. Well done to everyone involved!

For a full breakdown of the results, you can download from the link below, in the mean-time here are your elected candidates:

Download here.

Sabbatical Officers

President – Clem Jones

Vice President Education – Jack O’Neill

Vice President Welfare & Diversity – Willow Wong

Vice President Societies & Media – Holly Hughes

Vice President Sport – Dominic Brown

Part-time Roles

Student Trustee – Marco Benedettelli, Jordan Robins, Priyanga Sivagnanam

College Council Rep – Willow Wong

NUS Delegate – Willow Wong and James Ansorg

Please note that the role of Academic Board Representative will be seconded to a Sabbatical Officer for the 2018-19 academic year.