Laurels Awards 2019 Winners

We had a wonderful time at Laurels Awards 2019 as we recognised and celebrated the achievements of our fantastic students across campus, and now it's time to round up the winners.

It seems almost implausible that CIYK v CIYS was held less than 24 hours before, with the SU Main Hall looking glamorous decked out in drapes, pom poms and fancy fish bowls!

With 73 nominees across six categories, and over 100 people in attendance, it truly was a special night as we celebrated some of your amazing success stories from 2018/19.

Our Sabbatical Officers, led by President Clem Jones, did a fantastic job of presenting the awards, and we were also treated to two incredible society performances. First, Dance Society had us all tapping our feet away to a flawless routine of 'Tap Your Troubles Away', before Absolute Harmony gave us a beautiful rendition of 'Steady' by The Staves.

We were also delighted to be joined once again by Carol and Evan Grant, parents of former Royal Holloway student Cameron Grant who took his own life in 2014. Evan was pleased to present the winner of our Cameron Grant Memorial Shield - an award given to a student who has overcome adversity, successfully managed mental health issues, or helped another student with either of the above.

Thank you to everyone who made tonight possible and congratulations to all of our nominees and winners.

Look out for the photos on the main SU Facebook page!


Laurel Award

Isabella Baylis

Sophie Bury

Rory Ford

Hannah Harding

Florence Roberts

Kate Roberts

Giorgio Schipani

Barnabas Sharp

Honorary Membership

James Ansorg

Lydia Macanovic

David Whitworth

Academic Rep of the Year

Emily Briffett (History)

Department of the Year


Impact of the Year

Chris Keane (Winner)

Ana Patterson (Highly Commended)

Cameron Grant Memorial Shield

Shabnam Karimzada