Collectives & Executives

Each academic year, you get the chance to elect eight Collective convenors and ten members of the Societies, Sports and Opportunities Executive.

Collectives are autonomous bodies of self-defining students formed to represent traditionally underrepresented groups. Each Collective is chaired by three convenors, apart from our Postgraduate Research Collective who has six (one per school). The convenors are responsible for overseeing any campaigns and/or activities ran by the collective, as well as engaging relevant student groups where necessary. The convenors from both of the postgraduate Collectives also act as school reps for their level of study.

Student Executives are committees of student representatives that guide the work of the Union and the Officers throughout the year. Running campaigns, holding the relevant Officers to account on their manifesto pledges and working with their peers to make change across the campus, members of an Executive are in a prime position to have input on a wide range of issues. Each Executive is chaired by a full-time Sabbatical Officer, supported by student representatives from student groups, our academic reps, and Student Collectives.

Key dates

Nominations open
20 September 2021

Nominations close
7 October 2021

Voting opens
11 October 2021

Voting closes
13 October 2021

Student Collectives

There are seven collectives:

  • Women
  • LGBT+
  • Disabled Students
  • BAME Students
  • International Students
  • Postgraduate Research Students
  • Commuting Students

To be eligible to run in the election to become a convenor, you’ll need to make sure you are a member of it first. Only full members of a Collective (i.e. those who self-define into the individual groups) are eligible to run in the nomination and/or vote. Visit the Collectives page to find out more and get your free membership! For the PGR Students Collective, all PGR students are automatically members of the Collective.

Student Collectives

Student Executives

There are three executives:

  • Education
  • Wellbeing, Community & Diversity
  • Sports, Societies & Opportunities

The membership of the Education Executive and the Wellbeing, Community and Diversity Executive are formed from roles being elected elsewhere (either in the academic rep elections or the Collective elections) so check out those elections if you’re interested in taking part in their remits.

To be eligible to run in the election for one of the places on the Sports, Societies & Opportunities Executive, you must be a paid member of a student group.

Student Executives

How to stand

Nominations will open on Monday 20 September at 12:00 and close on Thursday 7 October at 16:00. To nominate yourself, all you have to do it click ‘Stand’, complete the information, and submit your nomination.

To stand for either Collective convenor or Executive member, you must have acquired the relevant membership(s), as detailed above, before the close of nominations.

Please ensure you read the information around data protection and the T&Cs of running in the elections, and follow the necessary steps.

  1. Log in to the RHSU website.
  2. Click on the position you wish to run for.
  3. Upload a photograph and your details. When asked for an email address, please use your Royal Holloway student account, rather than a personal email.
  4. From here, you will be able to upload a manifesto - this will highlight who you are and why you want to run. This information will be available for members to view when voting and is a prime opportunity to explain why you would be the best person for the role.

Some extra information

  • Manifestos are uploaded at the point of submitting your nomination.
  • No applications after nominations have closed will be accepted. Please ensure that if you decide to stand that you nominate yourselves ahead of the deadline to ensure any issues that may arise in the nominations process can be settled by the Student Voice team.
  • Uploading a picture and a manifesto with your nomination is optional and not necessary to stand in the election.
  • Voting will open at 10:00 on 11 October 2021 and close at 16:00 on 13 October 2021.