SU Elections 2019 Results

After three incredible days of voting, a fifth consecutive record turnout saw an incredible 3073 students vote in this year’s SU Elections.

With five Sabbatical Officers, three part-time roles and five media outlet positions being elected, you turned out in your droves to cast a whopping 31,592 votes in total. The record breaking turnout of 28.4% edged last year's 28% total, giving your Sabbatical Officers a fantastic mandate to lobby for you.

With Clem Jones at the end of his maximum two year term as a Sabbatical Officer, we were guaranteed a new President and Jack O'Neill was successfully elected to lead the Union, making the move from his current role as Vice President Education.

Kate Roberts was elected as your new Vice President Education, while Lucy Simpson follows Willow Wong as Vice President Welfare & Diversity. Sophia Bolton is your new Vice President Societies & Media, replacing the outgoing Holly Hughes, and Dominic Brown was successfully re-elected as Vice President Sport. We would like to congratulate all of our candidates on their phenomenal campaigns which have seen them elected into their respective roles.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of our candidates who stood this year – without you, there simply would be no election. A big thumbs up also to all of the campaign teams who have worked tirelessly for each of the candidates, and kept us entertained, from quirky campaign videos to extravagant campaigning on campus.

The Students’ Union looks forward to welcoming the newly elected officers to the team in July, ready for a year of action, and change.

Student group competition

We are also happy to announce the winners of our student group competition, with MTS (93.5% turnout) securing the win in the over 50 members category, while Rounders (100%) found the last four members they needed to pip Women's Rugby at the death in the under 50 members category. Both groups will be receiving £100 into their restricted accounts.

All-student vote

This election period also saw an all-student vote on the 'Support Student Sex Workers' motion from this year’s Annual General Meeting. The motion was carried and will now become Students’ Union policy.

For a full breakdown of all the Elections results, including the all-student vote, hit the link below.

Voting Breakdown

Sabbatical Officers

President – Jack O'Neill

Vice President Education – Kate Roberts

Vice President Welfare & Diversity – Lucy Simpson

Vice President Societies & Media – Sophia Bolton

Vice President Sport – Dominic Brown

Part-time roles

Student Trustee – Hammad Chaudhry, Milo Dack and Niamh Smith

College Council Rep – Hammad Chaudhry

NUS Delegate – Jack O'Neill and Maliha Reza

Media Elections

Insanity Radio 103.2FM Station Manager - Jamie Woods

Insanity Radio 103.2FM Assistant Station Manager - Keren Tomasoa

Orbital Magazine Editor - Rachel Hains

rhubarbTV Station Manager - Hammad Chaudhry

rhubarbTV Assistant Station Manager - Charlotte Hutton