SU Elections 2022 Results

It's time to find out who you've elected to lead the Students' Union in 2022/23 as your new Sabbatical Officers, NUS Delegates and School Reps.

After weeks of online and in-person campaigning and three long days of voting, 2497 students turned out to vote in this year’s SU Elections – a turnout of 18.2%.

With four full-time Sabbatical Officers, three NUS Delegates, and five School Reps being elected, you cast a whopping 12,368 electronic votes to select who you wanted to see lead the Students’ Union in 2022/23.

With Henn Warwick at the end of her maximum two-year term as a Sabbatical Officer, we were guaranteed a new President and Maia Jarvis (current VP Education) was successfully elected to lead the Union.

Shrijeet Shrey was elected as your new Vice President Education, Zee Iqbal becomes VP Wellbeing & Diversity, and Hannah Hockin will assume the role of VP Societies & Sport. We would like to congratulate all of our candidates on their phenomenal campaigns which have seen them elected into their respective roles.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of our candidates who stood this year – without you, there simply would be no election. A big thumbs up also to all of the virtual campaign teams who have worked hard to support the candidates, and kept us entertained with some quirky posts and campaign videos - it was extremely exciting to see campaigning back in action on campus this year.

The Students’ Union looks forward to welcoming the newly elected officers to the team in July, ready for a year of action and change.

Photo of the winning Sabbatical Officer candidates: Maia Jarvis, Shrijeet Shrey, Zee Iqbal and Hannah Hockin

ELECTED: Your new Sabbatical Officer team for 2022/23 (L to R: Maia Jarvis, Shrijeet Shrey, Zee Iqbal and Hannah Hockin)

Student group competition

We are also delighted to announce the winners of our student group competition, with Savoy Opera (91.7% turnout) securing the win in the under 50 members category, while Cheerlanding and Dance (77.2%%) claimed the victory in the over 50 members category. Both groups will be receiving £50 into their restricted accounts.

Check out the final standings here.

Sabbatical Officers

President – Maia Jarvis

Vice President Education – Shrijeet Shrey 

Vice President Wellbeing & Diversity – Zee Iqbal

Vice President Societies & Sport – Hannah Hockin

School Rep

Business & Management – Martin Kapusta

Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences – Irwin Blair

Humanities – no candidates stood for this position. A by-election will take place in April.

Law & Social Sciences – Jayden Bookout

Life Sciences & the Environment – Guaresh Kuradia

Performing & Digital Arts – Carmen Anderson

NUS Delegate

Rida Haider

Maia Jarvis

Ananya Krishna

*Henn Warwick automatically attends as ex-officio.

Voting breakdown